Opening files or programs.

TNC Discussion Board: Files, files, files: Opening files or programs.
  Subtopic Posts   Updated
AmiPro files  1   03/05 07:44pm
Opening .bmp files??  2   12/20 05:06pm
Opera hi-jacked my jpg files  2   07/11 06:27pm

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Bunky on Friday, November 10, 2000 - 04:30 pm:

This is my first attempt at posting on a bulletin board. Please be considerate.
My problem is opening files and/or programs on my computer. There are many files that I can not identify. I don't know what they are or where they came from. When I click on one of these icons to open the file I am taken to the "open with" window. In this window I am supposed to pick from a list and choose the program I want to use to open the other program.
I do not have a clue as to which program to pick. I do not know what most of these programs are or where they came from. I need to find out about how to match up the left hand with the right hand. And I don't know how to find out about either the right hand or the left hand.
Can anyone help? All the tutorials I have found lead me to the point of the "open with" window. None explain what to do beyond this point. I need the information to go beyond this point.
If it matters I am using Windows 95 on this machine. However I have used Windows 98 and have the same problem there.
Can anyone help. Thanks. Bunky

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Jamie McArdle on Friday, November 10, 2000 - 05:51 pm:

Bunky

You're having the same problem as Dave in the thread above. It's not difficult to fix. What are the last three letters after the dot in the filenames?

Jamie

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Bunky on Friday, November 10, 2000 - 06:23 pm:

Further information as requested by Jamie McArdle above. One file is called Folder.htt this file extension takes me to the "open with" window.