For Jamie McArdle re. exe files etcera

TNC Discussion Board: Files, files, files: For Jamie McArdle re. exe files etcera
  Subtopic Posts   Updated

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Geoff Ford on Sunday, October 29, 2000 - 08:41 am:

How do I rename an exe file or any other files with those three letter suffixes? I mean how do I know what letters to rename it with? What if I forget what the original letters were?
Stupid questions I know, but some of us are complete novices.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Helmut Fuchs on Sunday, October 29, 2000 - 05:00 pm:

Geoff,
First of all, EVERY file in your computer has a filename, then a dot followed by a three letter extension. Windows9x simply is very good in hiding that extension, unless you know how to make it show all extensions.
The extension usually indicates what type of file it is. There are a few that have become standardized over the years. An .exe file is a computer program that executes a particular set of instructions to do what you want it to do. Double clicking on an .exe file begins the program. It is generally NOT WISE to rename this type of file because its may be called for by another program. If it doesn't find a file by that name because you renamed it, you will be unable to use it.
Files that YOU created like in a wordprocessor, can have any name you wish. To rename it, use the right mouse button on the file name, find the "Rename" in the dropdown window and just type in another name, then press Enter.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Jamie McArdle on Sunday, October 29, 2000 - 11:09 pm:

Geoff

As Helmut points out, all files have a three letter extension. It's there so Windows knows what program to use to open it.