How Do I Change My Browser

TNC Discussion Board: Browser business: How Do I Change My Browser
  Subtopic Posts   Updated
Java enable - could it be that browser does not support Java?  1   03/10 01:29pm

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Loretta Woehst on Wednesday, January 03, 2001 - 06:53 am:

I have made a gateway page to one of my affiliate programs. (On a free site, don't beat me, it is my first attempt at web design, didn't want to spend money before I knew if I could do it.) Anyway, in another forum site review I was told there was a problem when viewing with Netscape. So, how to I change my browser to Netscape so that I can view the problem and fix it? Oh, and I will want to change back to IE when finished.

Is this operation to much to ask of a newbie?

Loretta
PS: this is the page.
http://bizalert.homestead.com/bizbuzz.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message   By Josh Lowe on Wednesday, January 03, 2001 - 07:52 pm:

Loretta:

Just download the netscape browser. When installing netscape, if it asks you to make it the default browser, say no. Then, connect to the internet, double-click netscape, and off you go. IE will still be the default.

Another side issue, Netscape 4.X and Netscape 6.0 are very different in how things are displayed. You may want to download both versions and check with all three browsers to get a happy medium. Whenever making websites, always remember to downgrade gracefully, finding the common denominator without compromising your site look.

Netscape 6.0 meets all HTML 4 standards, but Netscape 4.x and IE do not. Hopefully, Micro$oft will release their next IE version following all HTML 4 standards, which would eliminate this browser compatibility problem.